Week 13 – Extra Credit – Text Message Poetry Jasmine Barnum

2015-04-28 09.06.02The following are the instructions for one of my classmate’s procedures called “Text Message Poetry”:

1. Get your mobile device!

2. Open up to your text messages.

3. Look through your messages of the last ten people you have messaged.

4. Write down the third word of the last text you sent to that person.

5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 for all of the ten people from your text messages.

6. Make a poem from all the words you wrote down.

7. Read your poem aloud!

Here’s what I got:

Was I know it you down you be your you

At first, I didn’t think that the first sentence made any sense, so I decided to give it another try with the next 10 people I texted:

Attracted at I to hope life okay can it’s just left.

The last sentence made more sense than the last one in my opinion. Jasmin Barnum is the mystery classmate behind this interesting procedure. To think that there is more than just words on a text is what Barnum was aiming for, and I totally agree with her. Thinking back to English class, I start bringing my interpretation skills that I got from reading poems and articles back then. From those ten words, I can kind of see how people can be attracted to themselves, pampering themselves and only thinking about themselves, thinking that the world around them will be okay. Sometimes it can be difficult to create an interpretation about the poems that people write. But sometimes it can also be as simple as that.

Leave a Reply

